If only they knew

Now and then, white people I’m talking to will make some mild remarks about some nonwhite group, and they always preface it with something like, “This might sound bad, but…” or the perennial favorite, “I don’t mean to sound racist, but….”

I’ve always quickly reassured them. Before I became a race realist, it was because I knew that nice people like the ones I associate with couldn’t possibly be racist, so everything they say should be interpreted in the most charitable light possible.

Also, most conservatives are tired of the ridiculous oversensitivity of the modern world, where a silly joke can get you accused of condoning wife-beating or equally ridiculous things. So I always figured that anyone who knew I was a conservative would know I wouldn’t go nuts over hearing an acknowledgment that, say, brown people commit crimes.

Nowadays I feel ironic amusement when someone talking to me recites the ritual “Not to be prejudiced but….” I can’t tell them that the last thing they need to worry about is that I might disapprove of them making a remark about race.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If only they knew

  1. rjp says:

    I’ve always quickly reassured them. Before I became a race realist, it was because I knew that nice people like the ones I associate with couldn’t possibly be racist, ….

    There are a lot more of “us” out there than you think, and as the tax bills arrive and more depraved acts get posted to WSHH every day, more join “us” every day.

    • I think there are, but it’s so hard to find any! Hopefully with time….

      • rjp says:

        It is the fear of being branded with the scarlet “R” that makes very few people willing to express views that they perceive others might find offensive. This will continue until all white people realize that there is vocal segment of America that will not be happy until they can sit in your house using all your stuff, detroying both in the process while simultaneously demanding more, as you labor for their benefit.

Leave a Reply

