White Flight

I’ve white-flighted three times in my life. I had this wonderful house,
beautiful and charming, in a mixed neighborhood. Then the racial mix
tipped, as it always does; once a certain percentage of residents of a
neighborhood are nonwhite, all the white people flee. Also, the black
children became black preteens, old enough to make trouble. My
housemate’s car was keyed. My cat was shot with a BB gun. (She was
fine.) They played in the middle of the street and wouldn’t move so
that I could get to my driveway. They screamed “White people!” at us
when we drove by. It was like what Enoch Powell described.

I wasn’t a race realist then, but I was a plain realist, so I moved.
I didn’t look at racial demographics, just found an apartment complex
in my price range that seemed nice. Almost everybody there was white,
but I didn’t consciously notice that.

A few years later, my job took me to another state. I was short of
funds, so I got an apartment in the cheapest complex that was near my
work that I could find. Almost everybody else was Mexican or black. The
leasing office (staffed with Mexicans) treated all the residents like
dirt, knowing that most of them were poor and many were probably in the
country illegally and they had to just take it. When I refused to put
up with it, they were amazed. I moved to a more expensive complex. I
still wasn’t a race realist.

Yet again, work required me to move. I moved. I found a nice
apartment complex with a racial mix. I lived there for two years and
loved it. Then the ethnic balance changed, we honkeys became a
minority, and suddenly I started seeing suspicious people making
transactions in the parking lot late at night. There was also the loud
music and the kids who lived below me setting fires.

It so happened that just around that time, the stuff I was reading
(mostly in my blogroll) was finally forcing me to admit that no, race
wasn’t just skin deep. I really didn’t want to believe it. I resisted
it for a long time. When I finally acknowledged the truth, I went
around in shock for about a month. It wasn’t pleasant.

Then the black children in the apartment under mine started setting
fires, and I packed up. Most of the other white people had already fled.

This time, for the first time in my life, I considered race while I
was looking for a new home. I consulted maps of my city (a large city
in the Northeast, I think that’s all you need to know) that showed
crime rates and maps that showed ethnic mixes. Guess what? The more
nonwhite people, the more crime!

In my research, I came across several articles about how one of the
nearby counties was majority white. They made it sound like a nightmare
of Nazism and the oppression of women. That’s where I live now. Most of
my neighbors are white. There’s no loud music, no fires except when the
neighbors have a cookout, no drug deals going down. My car has never
been vandalized.

While I was looking at the houses in this neighborhood, I looked at
one that was nice, but needed a lot of repair. It had been vandalized
and there was graffiti all over the inside, etc. There were empty
liquor bottles in the back yard. I talked to a neighbor about it and he
said, “The people who lived here were Mexicans.” The house I ended up
taking had had thousands of dollars of repair work done since the last
people were evicted. For the first two months I was here, I got lots of
letters and phone calls to the previous occupants about unpaid bills.
Also, my next door neighbors on both sides were really nice to me once
they saw me and knew that a middle-class white person was moving in. I
heard a lot of stories about my predecessors’ loud parties, drinking,
litter, and vicious dogs. Finally, one day the previous residents
stopped by to ask if I’d received any mail for them. A white man and a
black woman, both of them scuzzy in the extreme.

Americans have become nomads because we keep having to move to get
away from the nonwhite people who are inflicted on us everywhere we go.
It’s as simple as that. It’s a huge waste of money.

And by the way, Thomas Sowell pointed out that we can’t blame this
on “conservatives”, who everybody knows are racist. (Note: sarcasm.) He
pointed out that white liberals are not buying the houses that white
conservatives flee from.

Here’s a few of the articles I came across when I was deciding to move, plus a few about the mortgage crisis:

Yes, the Community Reinvestment Act Really Did Help Cause the Housing Crisis

Plan to Insure Home Value Brings Chicago Racial Rift

Unique Chicago Program Eases Neighborhood Racial Tensions

When racial minorities started buying homes on Chicago’s
Southwest Side, residents of the formerly white enclave feared home
values would plunge. That prospect only worsened racial tensions.

Then the white residents created the Home Equity Assurance Program,
which allayed residents’ fears and created a model of how integration
should be carried out.

Note: both the previous articles are about the exact same program.

How Much Will You Pay To Live Near People Like You?

Using restricted-access Census data, a new study
examines a quarter-million households on a block-by-block basis to
yield new results about the correlation between household attributes
and school quality. The researchers find that, conditional on income,
households prefer to self-segregate on the basis of both race and
education.

What is White Flight?

Here is one of the sites I
used for demographic information when I was looking for my new home. I
also used wikipedia and a lot of local government-run sites. They made
it challenging, but I did find out what I wanted to know: where the
white people were.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to White Flight

  1. ASF says:

    So you live in Fairfax County. Nice.

  2. sabril says:

    Again, I agree completely. When I first moved to the suburbs with my girlfriend, we lived in a garden apartment complex. Most of our neighbors were pretty good, but the people who lived next door were a black man and his dark-skinned Hispanic girlfriend. They were constantly getting into loud fights with each other, requiring the police to come. The worst thing was that they claimed the parking spot in front of their apartment belonged to them. Even though the rules of the complex were that there was no assigned parking. They would yell and scream at anyone who tried to park in this parking spot. Finally, the man had himself declared “handicapped” and bullied the complex into making the spot a handicapped spot.

    Actually it’s a decent metaphor for race relations in the US as a whole.

    Later, when I bid on a house, I knocked on the doors of all my potential neighbors and introduced myself to make sure there were no NAMs.

  3. Here’s the New York Times census map, which gives you racial breakdowns of any census tract-

    http://projects.nytimes.com/census/2010/map?hp

  4. zarzal says:

    “Later, when I bid on a house, I knocked on the doors of all my potential neighbors and introduced myself to make sure there were no NAMs”

    You won’t let even one slide? Because of a bad experience with that idiotic couple? Surely, if a random NAM can afford to live in a nearly all white neighborhood, that says something about his/her income and educational level. You can also gauge them by looking at the type of car they have, observing the state of their lawn, whether they use ghetto speech or not, etc.
    I’m a “NAM”, and go out of my way to avoid typical NAM behavior. I didn’t know I instilled such dread when I first moved out to the suburbs.

    • I’m with you, zarzal. The good neighborhoods I’ve lived in have had NAM residents – not all NAMs are created equal!

      My father lives in a quiet, pleasant middle-class neighborhood. His neighbors on both sides are single black women. They’re the kind of black neighbor everybody wants; they’re both professional women and they keep their yards *perfect*, and there is never any noise from their places.

      This is actually one of the points I’m trying to make in this blog: that the simplistic notion that “all” blacks/Jews/whoevers are a certain way is just as unproductive as the opposite simplistic liberal notion that it’s ALL down to the individual without regard for ethnicity. Some race realist bloggers understand this, some don’t.

      It’s why I look to things like freedom of association as my preferred solutions.

  5. Days of Broken Arrows says:

    LOL! This exact experience turned my ex and I from pie-in-the-sky liberals to race realists. We bought a townhouse in a mixed community. We tried. It didn’t work. It sure as hell wasn’t the fault of whites — who mostly kept to themselves. Yet the minorities were in everyone’s face, virtually all of the time. We moved on. Live and learn.

Leave a Reply

